I’m retiring this blog.

Now, I know what you’re saying: “It looks like you ‘retired’ the blog a while ago.’ This is true. I haven’t been actively blogging here for some time because I ultimately found other vehicles for what had been my ‘spare’ writing time. I wrote a couple more books, edited a magazine, and have now begun some new projects that are basically going to replace this blog as a publication vehicle moving forward.

And yet, I don’t want to delete or ‘blind’ this blog, so I’m simply going to leave it here. The formatting may change as it reverts to its non-customized status, but the posts should still be here.

If you are interested, I have moved to a couple of new public venues to publish.

XKV8R YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/israelxkv8r

XKV8R on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/xkv8r

XKV8R on Twitter: https://twitter.com/xkv8r

Thanks to the blogging community for all of the support over the years. What a ride it’s been. And who knows, I may be back here someday, but I’m guessing that most of my comments will be on YouTube or Instagram going forward.

Everything the Best!

Bob Cargill

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for your service. All blessing to you and your family.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Let me tell you that I’ve long enjoyed and appreciated the writing you’ve shared here on your blog. So, I must admit that, in response, I feel a bit sad with this news of your heading to the greener grasses of other pastures. As a lover of writing in general, it’s hard to complain too much about someone not blogging because they’ve published books and edited a magazine instead.

    Nonetheless, your contribution here will be sorely missed, even as your reasons for blogging retirement are understandable. I wish you well in your personal endeavors and professional aspirations. As you suggest, maybe you’ll return one day to grace us once again with your blogging presence. In the meantime, I’ll have to check out these other projects of yours that I’m sure are more than worthy as replacements.

    Still, I’d prefer that others would not follow your example in departing from this kind of public forum. Even as blogging has lost favor with many, it remains my favored platform that makes possible a more intimate and in-depth way of engaging with others. Other media formats, from Twitter to Youtube, simply don’t invite the same level and length of discussion and exploration.

    The loss of another blog I subscribe to is keenly felt. The places for such high quality dialogue have generally been in decline, such as how many publications have shut down their comment sections over the past decade. This seems to have become a standard feature of the transitory nature of the online world. And it has been worsened by a sense of societal conflict, anxiety, and fatigue that has contributed to disengagement among some.

    I’ve seen other bloggers disappear for various reasons. Though many, like you, haven’t gone into hiding but simply moved elsewhere on the world wide web. I understand the attraction to communicating with larger audiences in turning to more lively platforms, of the sort not found in the blogosphere. If such blogs as this must go by the wayside, let’s hope that new formats and forums come to replace the old.

    Life is guaranteed to change, if nothing else. So onward to the new and improved, I guess. As for myself, I’ll keep plugging away in the blogosphere, the dusty and dark corner of the interwebs. In some ways, the slower pace and quieter atmosphere of blogging is calmly peaceful. Each to their own. And, with that, I hope your new outlets serve your purposes and satisfy your interests.

Leave a comment